Business & Investment, Middle East Knowledge

What are the Seven Emirates of the UAE?

What are the 7 emirates?

Overview of UAE

United Arab Emirates (UAE) is a country located in the Middle East. It is a federation consisting of 7 emirates or states. On December 1971, the UAE was formed with 6 members which are Abu Dhabi, Dubai, Fujairah, Umm Al Quwain, Sharjah, and Ajman. Later, Ras Al Khaimah joined as the 7th member on February 10, 1972.

Each emirate is ruled by a different royal family who are descendants of the Sheikhs who founded the UAE.

All the 7 rulers of the emirates make up the Federal Supreme Council, which govern the UAE. The Federal Supreme Council then appoint the prime minister and the cabinet from within its members.

Now, let’s look briefly at each emirate at the UAE.

1. Abu Dhabi (Capital of UAE)

Abu Dhabi, the capital of UAE, is the largest emirate. It has a land mass more than 85 percent of the national territory and contributes more than 60 percent to UAE’s economy. The present ruler of Abu Dhabi is Sheikh Mohamed bin Zayed Al Nahyan, who also serves as the president on the Federal Supreme Council.

Abu Dhabi is well-known for its abundance of oil and natural gas reserves. In addition, it’s growing fast as a popular tourism destination. Impressive feats of Abu Dhabi include boasting a high income per capita and one of the lowest crime rates in the world.

2. Dubai

Dubai is the second largest emirate. The present ruler is Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum who also serves as the vice president, prime minister, and minister of defense of UAE.

What makes Dubai attractive is its modern, world-class, and beautiful architecture and infrastructure. The emirate ranks high as a tourist destination and international business hub. As a way to diversify its economy, Dubai has invested heavily to expand its trade, services, and finance sector along with attracting foreign direct investment into the country.

3. Sharjah

The ruler of Sharjah is Sheikh Sultan bin Mohammed Al Qasimi, who holds a position on the Federal Supreme Council similar to other rulers of the 7 emirates.

As a cultural hub, Sharjah contains rich art and history as well as many traditional heritages. In 1998, UNESCO recognized Sharjah as the “Cultural Capital of the Arab World.” Then in 2019, UNESCO named Sharjah the “World Book Capital.”

4. Ajman

Ajman is the smallest of the 7 emirates with Sheikh Humaid Bin Rashid Al Nuaimi III as the ruler. This emirate lies on the coast of the Arabian Gulf, near the Hajar mountain ranges. One appeal of Ajman is its traditional vibes.

5. Umm Al Quwain

In terms of size, Umm Al Quwain has land equal to around 1 percent of UAE’s total area while also being the least populated emirate that is ruled by Sheikh Saud bin Rashid Al Mualla.

Many travelers flock to Umm Al Quwain for its beaches and islands along with the largest waterpark in UAE, Dreamland Aqua Park. Fishing and poultry farming contributes to a large part of its economy.

6. Ras Al Khaimah

The ruler of Ras Al Khaimah is Sheikh Saud bin Saqr Al Qasimi. Ras Al Khaimah offers a diverse topography to explore from mountains, beaches, islands, and desert. Furthermore, it’s home to many archaeological sites and heritage landmarks.

7. Fujairah

Fujairah is ruled by Sheikh Hamad bin Mohammed Al Sharqi. Because Fujairah has a strategic location as UAE’s only access to the Indian Ocean, it functions as a port that allow trades with major countries. The economy is mainly supported by fishing and agriculture.

Start exporting to the Middle East !!
UAE is a great potential market for Thai products. Export Thai Products to the Middle East with EAT.
Learn more about EAT export services from Thailand to the Middle East–  Click Export Services

Contact us for more info

LINE Official: @eatconnection

WhatsApp: +66 (0)88-007-8972

WeChat ID: eatconnection